Key People

The Sustainability Transition Lab (STL) is fuelled by the passion, power, and experience of many remarkable system thinkers and change agents. The STL program is rooted in collaboration, and we have therefore gathered the energy and intention of many people to enhance our impact.

The team, partners, and advisory council members listed below all contribute in various ways to both the program overall and to specific projects. Their roles include acting as advisors, process designers, facilitators, project stewards, partnership brokers, researchers, system mappers, developmental evaluators, communications advisors, and more.

The core team developing the STL program and running the specific projects, alongside our convening partners for each specific project, includes:

Advisory Council

The Sustainability Transition Lab is supported by an esteemed Advisory Council whose members are among the pre-eminent thought leaders and practitioners in social innovation and sustainability. Advisory Council members advise and coach on the design, delivery, evaluation, and dissemination of the lessons and outcomes from each Sustainability Transition Lab project.

Bryan Smith
Co-Author, The Necessary Revolution; President, Broad Reach Innovations

Tim Draimin
Executive Director, Social Innovation Generation (SiG) National

Bob Willard
Author, The NEW Sustainability Advantage, The Next Sustainability Wave, and The Sustainability Champions Guidebook

Tim Brodhead
Past-President, J.W. McConnell Family Foundation

Anna Birney
Head of System Innovation Lab, Forum for the Future

Joe McCarron
Reos Partners

Kelly Hawke Baxter
Chair, The Natural Step International

Monica Pohlmann
Innovation Animator, Leading Boldly Network at United Way of Calgary and Area

Dr. Karl-Henrik Robèrt
Founder, The Natural Step; Ashoka Fellow

David Love
Former Executive Director, The Living City Foundation

Vanessa Timmer
Co-founder and Executive Director, One Earth

Joeri van den Steenhoven
Director, MaRS Solutions Lab; Co-Founder and Former CEO of Knowledgeland